Berliner Dom and Schnitzel

After spending the majority of my day at Museumsinsel, the sun was still out and I had some energy left to keep sightseeing.  Next to Museumsinsel is this beautiful cathedral, the Berliner Dom.

IMG_2550 The exterior of this cathedral is absolutely breathtaking, especially since most of it was not damaged during WWII.  Though there was some fire damage that caused the roof to collapse.

IMG_2551 IMG_2552

Walking into a cathedral this size is always either a huge disappointment or an eye-opening experience.  Let’s just say my eyes were wide open for a long time.

IMG_2555 IMG_2556

I was lucky enough to walk in during a rehearsal for Bach’s Matthäuspassion that was to be performed in April.  The beautiful sounds of operatic singing and strings playing filled the dome.  I sat down for at least an hour enjoying this free concert of sorts.

IMG_2557

With only a little time left before the cathedral closed I knew I had to motivate and walk around.  One of the most impressive pieces in this cathedral was the pipe organ.

IMG_2564 IMG_2565 IMG_2566

Though I didn’t realise it when I bought the entrance ticket, I had the opportunity to climb up to the top of the cathedral and look upon Berlin.  So I climbed, and climbed and continue climbing until I reached a door and walked outside.  Had it not been cloudy, it would have been absolutely amazing.  But, beggars can’t be choosers, and I enjoyed the views the best I could.

IMG_2579 IMG_2580 IMG_2584 IMG_2586

From there I found myself in the crypt.  This was one as I’d never seen before with large coffins lined up and crowns displayed to recognise royalty.

IMG_2592 IMG_2594

Feeling absolutely famished I made my way over towards Hackerscher Markt to find a bite to eat.  The night before I played it safe with some Italian food but after this day, I wanted a beer and some traditional German food.

IMG_2596

I found myself at Restauration 1840.  There were people sitting and eating inside, which is always a good sign, so I made my way in and found a table for one.

IMG_2599

IMG_2597The servers were extremely helpful and I ordered a Warsteiner and Schnitzel Weiner Art.  Never having schnitzel before, I was a little skeptical.  You always hear about schnitzel but if you’re like me, ask yourself, “What the heck is a schnitzel?”  Basically, it’s tenderized meat, coated and fried.  Delicious, but extremely filling.  While I didn’t finish the whole thing, I only left a few bites.

IMG_3332 IMG_3333

A fine end to a great day!

Leave a Reply

