There’s a First Time for Everything!

Well folks, today’s the day I step WAY out of my comfort and take my first solo trip. That’s right, solo, as in alone, by myself, no one accompanying me…you get the idea.

Now, if you know me or have read through my blog posts, you’re probably thinking: “Wait, didn’t you go to ASU for your undergrad not knowing anyone? Didn’t you move to Rome, Italy for 6 months? Don’t you currently live in England?” Yes, yes and yes. But, I wasn’t completely on my own in any of those places as they were all for academic purposes and I knew I’d meet people pretty quickly.

This is different. Today, I’m sitting in London Heathrow T1, enjoying a coffee and muffin from Pret and awaiting my flight to Berlin, Germany.

Germany has been on my bucket list for as long as I can remember. Some of my ancestors are German or Prussian. Also, when it comes to history, one of my favourite time periods to study was, and is WWII, which includes the concentration camps and Holocaust.  There are so many memorials and museums dedicated to this time period that it only makes sense that I visit.  Aside from history, I do enjoy a glass, pint or litre of beer from time to time and what better place to experience a proper Beer Hall than in Munich?!

So, over the next 9 days, I’ll travel to Berlin and Munich to experience a brand new culture and way of life. I’m excited, a little nervous, but ready to see what this country throws my way. Stay tuned for updates from my German adventures!

20140408-081902.jpg

One thought on “There’s a First Time for Everything!

Leave a Reply

